Sanskrit Department

Department of Sanskrit, , is the one and only department having BA Sanskrit course under Kannur University.It is the oldest center of Sanskrit studies of North Malabar, where Sanskrit language and literature were taught in the modern academic style was established in 1890. Sanskrit was taught as a Language and main subject for Degree courses. Some of the eminent scholars of North Malabar were the teachers of the Department. They had participated scholastic dialogues of that time. Degree courses were started in 1969. Optional subject for the course was Sanskrit literature. The title of the course was ˜Sanskrit Sahitya special. Now the syllabus had changed to a general pattern. Sanskrit is subsidiary subject for Degree and post graduate course of Malayalam and Hindi Departments. Eminent Scholars like Dr. M.S. Menon, Dr.M Santhichandra Kamath, Dr.K.G Kamaladevi , Prof: A.N Raman Kartha, Dr.C Divakaran Namboodiri, were professors of this department. Dr.Santhichandra Kamath, former Head of the department was the first Research guide of this Department. The department regularly organised Workshops,seminars and invited lectures in various areas of Sanskrit. The Department has been expanding its library resources to cope up with the demands of newly revised syllabus and the developments in the field of Sanskrit. The faculty strength of the department is six, two of them with PhD. degree.